Young Physicians Section Board of Directors Election

Congratulations to those that were elected to their new positions for the 2017-2018 YPS Board of Directors!

                                                                      President:                                  Jeffrey D. Chien, MD
                                                                      Vice President:                          Michael Gottlieb, MD
                                                                      Secretary-Treasurer:                 Molly Estes, MD
                                                                      At Large Board Members:        Phillip Dixon, MD
                                                                                                                          Danielle Goodrich, MD
                                                                                                                          Amy F. Ho, MD
                                                                                                                          Daniel Migliaccio, MD

The nomination period for AAEM’s Young Physicians Section (YPS) board of directors opens in the fall of each year. These positions give interested individuals the opportunity to become involved with the leadership and development of this section in AAEM. Only YPS members may run for the board and vote. In addition, those in their final year of accredited emergency residency or fellowship training may be nominated for an at-large board member position. Encourage your colleagues to join YPS today!

Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged. 

All candidates for a position on the board of directors should plan on participating in regular conference calls which last approximately one hour (usually held once a month). One mandatory in-person board meeting will be held during the 23rd Annual AAEM Scientific Assembly in Orlando, FL, March 16-20, 2017. Board members should plan on being actively involved on a regular basis and should be highly motivated towards the development of this section. All board members are expected to submit at least one article to Common Sense and regularly participate in the YPS CV Review service and mentoring program.

The AAEM/YPS board of directors will take their posts at the start of the 23rd Annual Scientific Assembly. The term of all positions shall be approximately one year. Voting for positions will be completed by online ballot.

The following board of director positions are open annually for nominations:

Executive Committee:

  • President - Responsible for guidance of the section and leading the YPS board of directors.
  • Vice President - Assists the president in guiding the section and leading the board of directors.
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Controls YPS finances and maintains the budget.

At-Large Board Members:

  • Four at-large board positions are available on the YPS board of directors.  In addition to attending board meetings, each at-large member will be required to serve as a committee chair. For more information about committees, click here.
Last updated: February 27, 2017